Fashionable Timing

January 27, 2010 § 3 Comments

Just a fair warning to anyone who may read this entry: It’s about fashion.  All of it.  Every single little sentence, whether gushing, drooling, wistful, openly begging, would certainly sell all my possessions and even my intelligence for that dress or those red sole Pigalle pumps, is about fashion.  If you like fashion, read on!  If not, well I warned you and that’s all I need to do.

Let’s start off with The Dress.  Now, when I become a rich and famous writer, I intend to be feted in the appropriate way!  I want soirees held inside my mansion, awards ceremonies dedicated to me, and of course, the right gown for them all.  You know what I mean.  The dress that is simply, The Dress for That Occasion.  The cameras will flash and bulbs will pop; my Dress will sparkle and catch that light at the exact perfect angle.  The spotlights will dim and my Dress will swirl like smoke around my legs, ethereal and dreamy.  The night will be black as pitch before I leave my parties, but somehow I’ll still be shining with an inner tumescence.  Don’t be fooled, it’s not me.  It’s my Dress.  And that is why I love Marchesa.  Look at this dress! 

Organza Marchesa Resort 2010
Organza Marchesa Resort 2010

Why do I not own it?  Why am I not draping myself in its airy organza and glowing cream tones?  Admire the golden details on the waist.  Note the frothy ruffles, like whips of the lightest meringue.  Remember what I said about dim spotlights?  This is That Dress.  Let’s take a look at this next one, with both Halle Berry and the model wearing it:

Marchesa Spring 2009

  Those threads running throughout the dress are pure gold.  Metaphorically.  This dress is about the flashing cameras, the bright lights reflecting hundreds of shimmers cascading from my body.  My eyes will have some tough competition when it comes to sparkling.  And the shape!  Instant hourglass.  Perfectly nipped in at the waist and gliding down to elongate and make the legs slender.  Hello cameras, this Dress says, arching an eyebrow.  And my third selection- This Dress:

Marchesa Spring 09 Marchesa Spring 09

You have to look at the detailed picture, but you can see it- This Dress has sequins on the boning of the corset.  The tulle is a cloud, demurely covering the knees and giving the left shoulder a hint of shadow.  The flowers make me sigh in happiness.  It’s a dark color and the rosettes might not be everyone’s favorite look, but I love it.  In this Dress, I’d be floating all night long.

The perfect finishing touch: Shoes.  Christian Louboutin shoes.  I’ve picked out two pairs that I adore.  Enjoy staring!!  For hours.  And hours.  And HOURS.  I will be.   Pigalle Pumps in Black

Pigalle Glitter
 
PS-  Let me know what you think of the dresses and the shoes in the comments!!  Maybe I have terrible taste and this is your solemn duty to let me know and even though it is a harsh and bitter task you will perform it without swerving because you are a true friend and someone, SOMEONE has to let Rose know that those dresses and shoes are awful, JUST awful!
PSS – Please ignore that basically 14 year old looking model in the last dress.  I have no idea why Marchesa is choosing girls who look like infants. 
(Shut UP, jealousy!!!  GOSH.)
Tagged: ,

§ 3 Responses to Fashionable Timing

  • Veronica says:

    Rose,
    I nary understood anything that this post was about… you are shocked and dismayed I know 🙂
    Just wanted to say “tumescence” = brilliant word.
    Also, I don’t believe that flash bulbs have “popped” since some time in the early 1940s 😀

  • Veronica says:

    By the way, the fact that I failed to follow the majority of what you had to say in this blog brought me great peace, happiness, and the satisfaction that I could relax because I’m still myself.

  • shortside40 says:

    Oh you hush, Veronica! If I want flash bulbs to pop then I guess I can have that! This is my blog, you know. And you don’t have to understand or follow anything I’m saying! Just look!! LOOK!! Look at the shiny dresses! Look at the sparkly shoes!! Feast your very eyes!!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Fashionable Timing at findingsomethingbetter.

meta

