Time To Be Continued

March 10, 2010 § 7 Comments

Let us take this blog entry (first in awhile, I’m sorry faithful readers!) and put it in the form of a list. 

Things I am doing, need to do, and probably should start thinking about doing:

1.  Being a better Godmother (does that need to be capitalized?  I checked The Google but found no definitive answer).  I don’t know why I have been thinking about this lately, but I feel like it’s really been weighing on my heart.   I am Godmother to my little sister Genevieve, who will be 9 on April 18th.  It’s just been something I’ve been thinking about lately, that being a Godmother is a responsibility conferred on me during her Baptism and something that I shouldn’t just take lightly.  (I got to hold her up on the altar, she was so cute and chubby!!)  To that end, I am getting her a Bible of her very own for her birthday.  My Bible was given to me by my Dad for First Holy Communion I believe, and I have always cherished that.  Its binding is cracked now and pages are slightly torn and stuff, but man that Bible has BEEN places.   I took it to any and all retreats I went on, to the beach most years, Camp St. Andrew, Camp Orchard Hill, PMBC, and I even took it on my cross-country road trip back in ’03.  It’s very special to me.  Anyway, so I am giving Gen a Bible and I hope to start being a Godmother to her more actively!

 2.  On a COMPLETELY different note (and a much more frivolous one, I might add), I crave more make-up.  I want to buy a dark green eye shadow, because I’d just really love to see what it does to my light blue eyes.  Not really a pine green, more of a darker olive green.  I think I want to buy it from MAC because I love their powder.  Also, make-up brushes.  I want to buy more.  Do I need more?  Not exactly.  I mean, mine are older and the bristles are not what they once were, but they’re still totally usable… it’s just… I want new ones!  But I don’t want to spend the money.  But I want them and will get good use out of them every single day.  But they are expensive and I should save my money for more important things.  Fie!!  I don’t know what to do.  Further dithering is required.  And I recently got a free sample (FREE!) of this really nice foundation primer from Sephora.   (For the un-initiated: Sephora is a make-up store created by the gods of the underworld to tempt and wreak havoc in that battlefield I charmingly refer to as ‘my bank account’!)  Now, I don’t normally wear primer under my foundation.  I have to be honest, I have decent skin.  It may lean toward dryness, but other than that, I don’t really break out, and my skin color is pretty even naturally, although a bit too pale.  But this foundation primer is AMAZING.  It dries rapidly, is silky smooth, and definitely helps even out my foundation.  I NEED IT NOW.  Did I need it three days ago?  No.  Ye gads Sephora, I curse thee!!!!!!    

3.  Spring is fast approaching and that means my sister’s wedding!!  The bridal shower was excellent, thanks for wondering, and everyone has told me they enjoyed it immensely.  That makes me so happy because all I wanted to do was have people who love Juliana come together and share in her happiness.  I think it worked.  The wedding is April 10th and I still have no idea whose car I’m taking out there, when I’m leaving, or what in the heck I should pack to wear other than my maid of honor dress.  Gah!  Hence this item’s place on the ‘things I need to think about’ list. 

This list is only three items and I have ever so many more things I could add, but my typical long-winded writing style has forced me to end it here.  Perhaps it shall be my first TO BE CONTINUED post!!  A ‘cliffhanger’, if you will!!

And as a little extra tidbit of my life for you all, at the end of every blog post here on out, I shall update you as to which book I am reading on my Kindle at that moment!  Gosh it’s exciting to own a Kindle.  Danny is the BEST BOYFRIEND EVER.  I am reading Pride and Prejudice on my Kindle right now.  I just finished The Complete Adventures of Sherlock Holmes.  I rock.  The End.

PS – Completely random and merely for your enjoyment: http://achewood.com/index.php?date=09252003

Tagged: , , ,

§ 7 Responses to Time To Be Continued

  • Walt says:

    See what happens when you don’t post frequently. Your Dad become the only reader of your blog!

    re #1: a good godmother buys all of her goddaughter’s clothes for her…she buys her a 20″ bike when she grows out of her 16″…and she teaches her to be graceful and feminine even from the young age of 8 or 9. (it’s a serious financial commitment — didn’t we tell you that at her Baptism??)

    re #2: stop covering up your natural beauty…soon POTUS BHO will be fining people for using too much make-up, due to the excessive energy demanded for it’s production.

    re #3: please confirm for me that this quote of Mary’s is actually in the book: “We must stem the tide of malice and pour into each other’s wounded bosom’s the balm of sisterly consolation.” If so, I want to start hearing it more around the house!

    PS. Happy Birthday to me!!

  • Veronica says:

    AHAHAHAA LOVE YOUR DAD’s comments… your post isn’t bad either 😉

    i thought we’d established we’re taking my car and going thursday morning, no?

    And lastly…. best line of this blog post “ye gads.”

  • shortside40 says:

    Dad I wished you a happy birthday!! And yes that line from Mary is definitely in the book. I’ll try and remember it next time Cathy is being a huge whiner.

    Vee- Did we establish that?? I can’t remember… Ugh I hate when I’m scatter-brained. I will talk to you soon though, I’m sure, and we can figure it out then.

  • Megen says:

    Mr. B., you made my day. I am still laughing at your points #1 and #2. And yes, Mary definitely did say that in P & P. However, I believe Elizabeth’s (aka the “rational” one’s) response to this particular comment was something along the lines of “what the h#$%” (in more Pride-and-Prejudicey language, of course, which fails to come to mind at the moment). I fear such a comment might be greeted similarly in your house, recalling my own days as the oldest of many girls. 😉

  • Cathy says:

    I am NOT a huge whiner!! I EVEN READ YOUR BLOG! I deserve to come with you on that trip to Sephora miss.

  • shortside40 says:

    Ok Cathy we will go to the Lehigh Valley Mall sometime after Jul’s wedding. Maybe end of April, beginning of May. That way we can hit Forever 21, Charlotte Russe, MAC, and Sephora all in one try. However you have no money. I would suggest doing chores for your parents, babysitting, and maybe standing a street corner holding a “The End Of The World Is Coming. Can I Have $5?” sign.

  • Aunt Linda says:

    …..[heading out to the corner with a “The End of the World is coming. Can I have $5?” sign.] I wonder if it will work?…Someone should try this in front of 1600 PA Ave.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Time To Be Continued at findingsomethingbetter.

meta

