We Got Her to the Church on Time

April 13, 2010 § 2 Comments

        The Solemn Rite of Marriage between Juliana and Daniel has officially occurred.  They are married!  The wedding, in fact the whole weekend, was wonderful.  There were too many happy times to relate in totality, but I’ll try my best to give a little summary of the weekend.

        The drive out on Thursday with Veronica was very good fun!  We even listened to some Michigan football clips when we were in Ohio, to dishearten the Buckeyes and let them know how we felt about them (re: hate them!).  I drove the whole way because I was so excited.  The iced vanilla latte from Starbucks helped as well!  You should have seen Vee and I getting ready to leave.  Through the first half of PA, I think we were bouncing in our seats.   Good times!!!  We arrived late afternoon on Thursday and Juliana and Tara welcomed us grandly.  I also had my first shopping trip to Meijer.  Everyone there calls soda ‘pop’ and also they sell wine and Hennessey right in the aisles.  I was a wide-eyed innocent wandering through that store.  Natalie brought over some pizza and we had a great time that evening, just us girls.  Friday was crazy busy!  We decorated the reception hall most of the day and went to the rehearsal at the church at 5:30.  I wore my 4 inch heels, don’t worry!  After the rehearsal, it was off to the dinner, which was delicious, and Tara and I finally herded Jul home around 10pm.  She needed rest!!! 

        Saturday… I can’t even describe how amazing Jul looked as a bride, or how handsome Daniel was, or how proud I was of my sister.  I could seriously tear up again just writing about it.  Geez if I have to go through this for each of my other 3 sisters… I’m buying stock in Kleenex!!!!  Jul wrote me the sweetest card and thanked me for being her maid of honor.  She looked beautiful and her vows with Daniel were touching to witness.  The whole Mass was inspiring.  Being rather musically inclined (haha!), they had about 10 musicians there playing, and also they had a small devotion to the Divine Mercy image near the end of Mass.  Father Dennis quoted the Diary of Divine Mercy more than once and I loved it, since I have a strong devotion to St. Faustina and the Chaplet.  It was the best gift in the world to be able to follow behind Jul down the aisle when she and Daniel left as husband and wife!  Kudos to Dave for making me laugh or else I definitely would have cried just a little.  And I got to sign and witness the marriage license, which was an interesting experience.  After all the picture taking and hugging and kissing, we boarded the party bus to do what else- get more pictures!  Dave had stocked the bus with champagne and beer and it was a hilariously fun time, despite that I was surrounded by Red Wings fans. UGH.  Don’t worry, I defended Sidney quite vociferously.  Jul suffered a slight injury when she scratched her arm on someone’s corsage pin, but it only bled a little.  We arrived at the reception around 5:00ish… Actually I really have no idea if that’s when we arrived.  I didn’t have a watch and I wasn’t exactly looking at my phone…  I think it was 5ish.  We all made our entrances and soon enough it was time for the toast.  I was really, really nervous for some reason, but I think it went well.  It was a really sweet toast.  Tara’s was sweet too, and Dave’s was funny so I think it all worked out perfectly.  I nearly teared up again when Jul danced with Dad.  Daniel danced with his mother next and then it was time for the girls and I to rock the dance floor.  Everyone danced a lot, it seemed to me.  The DJ was great and for awhile it seemed like almost all the crowd was on the floor.  The coolest dancing moment was when “Viva la Vida” by Coldplay came on and everyone joined in singing.  After a few hours of an amazing party, some of us snuck outside and decorated Jul & Daniel’s car!!!  We went all out.  Streamers, a Just Married sign, cans on strings, car paint… It was a thing of beauty.  I don’t know who thought of it, but if you read this, step up and take credit!!!!  The car looked sensational.  And it was loud!!!  After a few last slow dances, Jul and Daniel left around 11 or 11:30pm and you should have heard those cans rattling as they drove away!!    

        Tara and I had some people over the apartment for a small after-party, once the reception hall had been cleaned up.  (Many thanks to everyone who helped in that task!!)  Mr. Schmit graciously gave us some leftover beer and we had wine back at the apt, so we headed there for some relaxation.  Dave and Tyler became instant heroes because they stopped at Burger King and brought us all burgers, which I proceeded to fall on as ravenously as a wolf.  Dancing increases my appetite, it seems.  The party lasted till about 3 in the morning, it was such a fun time I didn’t want it to end!   Of course, though, the next day was Sunday and time to head home.

        All in all, it was an amazing weekend and despite my camera breaking, not one thing marred the enjoyment of the wedding.  Jul and Daniel are a wonderful (married!) couple and I’m so glad they could be surrounded by so many people who loved them that weekend.  Share your favorite wedding memories in the comments!!!!  I left out a bunch of stuff because I was just trying to summarize everything.   I want to visit Michigan again!!!  I may become a fan!  Just NOT of the Wings.

 

PS- Still reading Mansfield Park.  not as good as Pride and Prejudice, but still amazing.

Tagged: ,

§ 2 Responses to We Got Her to the Church on Time

  • Walt says:

    I had never heard Daniel sing in person before (only on the CD). He sang one song at the rehearsal dinner at the request of his father. He has a great singing voice!

    Jul’s hair was done in these ring-let-y things — it looked cool!

    Jul and Daniel are both capable of putting a ring on someone else’s finger while maintaining eye contact — I saw it happen.

    Aside from the Father-Daughter dance with Jul, I had mercy on all by not gracing (or un-gracing, as would have been the case) the dance floor at all.

    I want to assure everyone that Rose did make it to 11am Mass with us on Sunday, despite having been up until 3am.

  • shortside40 says:

    hahahaha of course I made it to Mass, Dad. I am your daughter!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading We Got Her to the Church on Time at findingsomethingbetter.

meta

