Weekend Review

August 20, 2010 § Leave a comment

This is a bit of a different style from most of my posts.  Here is a hodge-podge of articles, links, quotes, fashion, and stuff happening in my life.  I am trying to get into a habit of posting more often.  We shall see. 

 

Gen's JokeFirst off, a joke!!!  This is a joke my 9 year old sister wrote on the family’s dry erase board. (Hint: she meant ‘screw’ when she wrote ‘scroo’.)

It gives a rather accurate (and pointed) summation of how small repairs are usually done in our household.  Sorry, Dad.  You’ve been outed by your youngest. 

 

 

 

This is how some towns in Spain celebrated the recent Feast of the Assumption (August 15).  Look at this amazing statue!  More pics in the link, they are really quite gorgeous, please check them out!

 Assumption

The Holy Father’s address on the Blessed Virgin Mary and the Feast of the Assumption:  “Her example of faithful perseverance in doing the will of God and her heavenly reward are a source of courage and hope for all of us.”

 

Audrey Hepburn Here is a link to a well-written blog post about ‘effortless style’, one that I enjoyed very much.  Fashion… It really is about wearing what you love and making educated choices.  I don’t have the money to follow the step of ‘investing’ she has here, but I understand it.  I also have a few fashion rules of my own, but I think I’ll save them for a separate post.  There’s a lot I could say about fashion, from my own ‘rules’, to my favorites and things I love, and modesty and fashion and even how it relates to grace and class.  That is NOT to say that anyone who doesn’t really enjoy fashion (clothes, make-up, et all) is not classy… just the opposite.  I think it is much, much easier to make the mistake that the more fashionable you look, the cooler you are.  This leads to what I would term (not flatteringly) the ‘Lady Gaga’ effect, where you think that wearing something totally tasteless and ugly is fashionable.  There is a reason we have Couture shows and a reason we have Ready to Wear shows.  I’m digressing, though.  I wanted to save this for a different post!  Sorry!

 

Although since we were speaking of fashion, here are a few items I’ve drooled over lately.  (I’ve also grabbed at them with greedy hands, only to be solidly rebuffed by the physical separation of a computer screen between us and the mental separation of their luxuriously gigantic price tag and my meager bank account.)

Express Ruffle Skirt

Oh look!  It’s a very simple, yet pretty floral skirt from Express.  And it’s not even that expensive.  Too bad winter is coming here and I can’t justify adding yet another skirt to my closet.  Woe is me!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

sultane CLThese shoes.  These pretty, pretty shoes.  They have a tassel.  Do you see the tassel?  It’s so cute, just hanging there, waiting to be all bouncy and perky whenever you walk around town.  That tassel speaks to me, to my soul.  It says, “Yes I am a tassel and therefore not something you normally see on a shoe, but I make you look good.  Nerdy yet cute.  Librarian meets Louboutin.  Love me.  Buy me.”

Oh shoes, I would answer your siren song if only I could!!  I’d wear you and love you and strut confidently around Public Square in you, flashing that red sole to everyone, including the man in the Darth Vader mask who wanders the Square daily.   (Christian Louboutin ‘Sultane’ shoes.  No link included because if there is anyone reading my blog who can afford $700 shoes, I hate you and don’t want you to own them when I can’t.)

Victoria Beckham Dress

Victoria Beckham dress.  If you’d like to visit Bergdorf Goodman and buy me an early Christmas present, but aren’t sure the dress costs enough to really show me how much you care about me, here’s the price link.  I know, I know… I mean way more to you than that lil’ thing.  Still, it is rather pretty… and soft… and simple, yet stunning and would look perfect on me and I definitely have somewhere to wear it (what?) and I think I might have matching shoes (prob not) and I know exactly what color lipstick I’d wear with it and how I’d do my hair, so be a dear and buy it for me, ‘kay? 

 

 

 

Not Fashion Related- Another article I really enjoyed is this one by Bishop Thomas Olmsted (Diocese of Phoenix, AZ) on marriage. Quote: “Is it really all that difficult to fathom that God had a plan for marriage, which He wove into the very fabric of human nature?”   (And I’d like to take this opportunity to thank the Arizona Republic article (linked in the previous link) for their statement that “Young people just do not share their parents’ hang ups about gay marriage.”  Thank you, Arizona Republic!  As a young person, I was like soo totally worried that I might have a ‘hang-up’ about gay marriage but ever since your ‘editorial’ included this little ‘fact’, I’m worry-free and can sleep through the night again!  You might have consulted me before posting a blanket statement about my beliefs as a young person but you know, it’s okay, I totally understand that you can make completely random remarks and pass them off as truth just because you’re the media.  Actually writing things that are true or representing both sides of a story are probably just ‘hang-ups’ about media that only my parents have.  Because, well, they’re old people.  Ew.)

Oh Look!  Random Facts About My Life:

I’m going to have to start back at the Café next week.  I took the summer off because Samantha came back from college and wanted my shifts.  Now, however, she’s leaving again and it’s back to the salt mines for me.  I’ll probably be there about 2 nights a week.  Hey, it’s cash money, right?  Sigh.  Come visit me.  We had a really good special last night, just a simple chicken dish, but the way it was prepared and the way it tasted… Ah.  It was a bone-in chicken breast, rubbed with roasted garlic powder and grilled, drizzled with homemade pesto, and served with a chilled cucumber and tomato salad.  YUM.

I’m trying to plan a trip to Michigan to visit my sister Juliana.  I’m aiming for the end of September or beginning of October.  And that’ll make her about 5 ½ months pregnant!  Very exciting.  Aunt Rosie has such a nice ring to it!  

I’m taking Pete to Dorney Park on the 28th or 29th so pray for good weather!!  Oh and pray that I don’t die in a horrific roller coaster accident that maims and bloodies my body and causes my funeral to be closed-casket, which is what my (90 year old) boyfriend seems to think will happen. 

Dorney

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Weekend Review at findingsomethingbetter.

meta

