Fun Times Ten

September 3, 2010 § Leave a comment

10 AM to 10 PM.

That’s how long Pete and I were at Dorney Park this past Saturday.  And we enjoyed every minute of it.  We didn’t go to the water park at all because I kind of have this thing about wave pools.  Blech.  But luckily for us, everyone else did go there, so the lines on the coasters were barely anything!  We must have walked ten miles that day, going back and forth between Dorney’s Big Three: Steel Force, Talon, and Hydra, and stopping along the way to ride the Dominator, Possessed, and a myriad of smaller but still thrill-inducing rides.  Pete was so excited (and so was I!) because he was FINALLY tall enough to ride the Talon & Hydra coasters.  He was measured more than once but they let him through every time.  It’s a big moment!  The weather was perfect, warm enough that we enjoyed the Log Flume’s splashing, but enough of a breeze that we weren’t dragging ourselves through the park or dying in the unshaded lines.  In fact when the sun went down around 8:30, I even put my hoodie on.  I have to say, there is nothing so fun as going on a roller coaster in the dark.  The neon lights blur around you and the wind has a bit of chill to it.  I love the feeling of swooping through the darkness, unable to see the twists and turns in front of you until you’re right there.  This is especially true for someone like me, who is blind as a bat without glasses.  I am still not able to wear contacts, therefore all day long, I had to take my glasses off for the crazy rides.  Imagine you’re on the Dominator, hanging two hundred feet up in the air, looking over the whole park, and all you can see is colorful blurs.  It was driving me nuts.  My prescription sunglasses saved my life that day, though.  It was sunny out all day long and being able to wear sunglasses and yet still see properly was a feeling I will NEVER take for granted.  That was the BEST $150 I have ever spent.  I love them.  I think the best part of the whole day though was the very end.  As Pete and I walked towards my car, he gave me a big hug and said that it had been one of the best days of his life.  High praise from an 11 year old boy after the only person he spent time with all day was his big sister!  Anyway, before I sound too mushy, here are some pictures of our day! 

Pete on the Carousel!
Pete on the Carousel!
I love the carousel
I love the carousel
Steel Force
Steel Force
Pete by the entrance to Possessed
Pete by the entrance to Possessed

 Here is a GREAT video of the front seat POV of Possessed.  Pete and I loved this ride!  We went on it about eight times.

Possessed Front Seat POV  (I wanted to embed the video itself here but I couldn’t.  I don’t know why.  If anyone has any answer as to why it wouldnt let me embed the video, please let me know!)

 

Remember this post about my love of gardening?  Here’s the result!  Only one sunflower made it to full fruition. 

sunflower
sunflower

 

Express shorts
Express Shorts

Now For Something Completely Different:   Fashion!!  Shorts!!  I bought these shorts recently from Express.  Definitely going to pair them this fall and winter with opaque tights and pumps, and a brightly colored cardigan with some sparkly jewelry.  If I ever have a working camera again, I will take pictures.  Also want to try wearing them with black tights and a white blouse and my black suspenders.  Remains to be seen how I will like this.  Could end up being a bit much, but I’m definitely going to try it out.  A simple black and white palette, how can it fail?  Plus I just love my suspenders.  I really do.

 

 

 Here are a few more examples of what I am aiming for with the shorts:

I love the white tights look.
I love the white tights look.
I'd like to try this color scheme with brighter tights.  Maybe maroon or aubergine?
I’d like to try this color scheme with brighter tights. Maybe maroon or teal?

 Both pictures courtesy of Fashionising.com.  Another trend you’ll see if you peruse the site is socks with ankle shoes. 
I can’t lie, this is melting my heart.  As a person who is perpetually cold, I really like the thought of being able to layer my ankle boots with thick, chunky woolen socks and still look adorable.  Take a look at this article to see what I mean, and here are two pictures (also courtesy of fashionising.com). 

warm AND cute!
warm AND cute!
I also like these boots.
I also like these boots.
Here is a full-length shot that I really enjoy, courtesy of The Sartorialist blog.  Taken 8/31/10:
very nicely done
very nicely done

Let me know what you think of these fashions in the comments!!  Don’t be afraid to say if you think they’re ugly.  Just be nice about it.  Or, if you are not fashionably opinionated, comment on how sorry you feel for me that I couldn’t see at all on any roller coasters I went on the other day.  My poor blind eyes.   At one point, Pete had to help me buckle in on Steel Force because I couldn’t see the buckle well enough.

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Fun Times Ten at findingsomethingbetter.

meta

