A New Name and Look

April 15, 2011 § 2 Comments

I hope you guys all enjoy the new blog title and format!  I am trying to work out any kinks in the new formatting, such as some pictures being cut off.  I should have it all squared away soon.  Not too soon though, because I’m leaving for Philly tonight!  Danny and I are going down for a weekend visit to see Jaci.  I’m very excited, becasue I haven’t seen my Frac since before Christmas.  Truly, terrible.  In the midst of the weekend, I will also be attending my cousin Erica’s bridal shower!  She’ll be a June bride and I couldn’t be happier for her and Brian, her awesome fiancé.      

I had a recommendation from Billy, the chef at the Café, about Monk’s Café in Philly.  Apparently, they have very good Belgian beer (for Danny) and great food (for me!).  I checked out their menu and was particularly interested in the smoked trout appetizer and the grilled rack of lamb entrée.  We’ve done smoked trout at the Café before and it was extremely delicious.  And I’ve loved lamb for as long as I can remember.  The lamb at Monk’s Café says it’s done with an Old Ale shallot sauce.  Mmmm…  We’ll probably try to get sushi somewhere as well, and it wouldn’t be a trip to Philly without a stop at the Reading Terminal Market.  On Sunday morning, Danny and I are going to Mass at the Basilica of Sts. Peter & Paul.  If we can get up in time, we’ll go to the 9:30 regular Mass, but if one of us (him) is lazy, we might end up at the 11 AM Latin Mass!!  Oh my.  I love me some Latin in the Mass.  Now that I have a smartphone with a great camera, expect lots of pictures from the weekend and definitely some of the Basilica! 

In non-related news, Pittsburgh won the opening game of their first round series against the Tampa Bay Lightning.  Goalie Marc-Andre Fleury got the shutout and looked sensational doing it.  If you have an interest, check out the blind leg save he made on Ryan Malone in the first period.  Amazing.  The second game’s tonight.  I couldn’t be more excited.  Playoff hockey is the reason I love this sport.  I don’t get a boulder in my stomach during regular season games.  Some people complain about the length of hockey playoffs, with the 7 game series setup, but I love it.  Playoff hockey is everything that’s right about the sport, simplified and incredibly intense.  I want to watch as much of it as possible.   

Final news item of note, the rats are staying at my house for the weekend.  Danny isn’t going to be around to feed them, so the duty falls to my siblings.  I have full confidence that Greg and Pete will not allow the cats to eat the rats.  Some may say I am going against nature here, but I figure this is good penance for the cats.  I haven’t noticed them giving up naptime in the sunlight for Lent or Fancy Feast Kitty treats either!  They can just ignore the temptation of three juicy, glossy pet rats in their home for a few days.  I’m calling it: “Three Days of Fasting and Abstinence: Feline Edition”.  Enjoy this video of Mervy Rat getting a little too close to the edge of the cage!

Ps- I have a new post with pictures in the works.  It’s turning out to be harder to write than I anticipated.  I want to make it good.  Therefore, patience, friends.

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to A New Name and Look

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A New Name and Look at findingsomethingbetter.

meta

