New Car!

May 17, 2011 § 4 Comments

I suppose the long drag of time in between posts is a good glimpse into my mind.  Always lots going on, but somehow I can’t quite pin it all down.  For instance, I have a really humorous post all written up, just waiting to be posted, but I wanted to draw pictures for it and I just can’t.  I open Paint up and sit there, staring blankly at the little paintbrush, waiting for inspiration. 

Blogging blues.  I think I have them.

It’s probably because the Vatican neglected, through what I’m certain was careless oversight (completely inexcusable, really), to invite me to the first ever Vatican Bloggers Networking Day.  Lots of awesome Catholic bloggers got to go to Rome for the weekend and participate in a blogging convention.  My invitation was apparently mislaid along with my inspiration.  One could almost wonder: am I uninspired because I was uninvited?  Or am I uninvited because I’ve been uninspired? 

The questions I ponder.

Here is something!  I got a new car!  YAY!  It is a 2011 Chevrolet Cruze.  I was nearing the end of my Subaru lease and in order to avoid the lease end fees and the (slight) over-mileage penalty, I traded in my Impreza early and got the Cruze.  It worked out very well because the trade-in value (or the buyout… I don’t know; there were lots of terms being thrown around that I barely understood.  Thank God for Danny.  Seriously, he is amazingly smart with car deals) on the Subaru was really good so I didn’t end up owing any money.  My payment is going to stay the same, but now I’ll have 15,000 miles a year instead of 12, which is great and should definitely eliminate any over-mileage issues.  The technology in the Cruze is very interesting.  It has Bluetooth synch, so I can use that instead of my cell phone.  I can just speak the name or number I want to call and it synchs with my phone and makes the call using my car speakers.  Hands-free!  Hooray for safety!  I get a 3 month free trial of XM Radio, which I am looking forward to using.  I’m thinking that I might purchase it when the free trial is over, because apparently there is an NHL channel and I can listen to almost all NHL games on XM.  I never knew that!!  That would be amazing, because I am in my car so much.  Also, the car has a USB port so I can plug my phone in and listen to any and all music on my phone through the car speakers.  This thing is a beast, basically.  It is black with a metallic glint.  Here are stock pictures.  I will take some photos of my own car when the sun finally decides to emerge from whatever cave it’s been hiding in.  (Disclaimer: I may never get around to taking those photos because I’ve never been the kind of person who cares enough about cars to take photos of them.)

The interior of mine is black, not gray.

 

Lots of exciting things happening this summer: 4 weddings, a few bridal showers, one or two baby showers… Jul and Cathy and of course, LEO will be visiting next week!!  Well, technically, Cathy will be returning.  I can’t wait to see Leo again! 

That’s all I’ve got for now.   Here is a photo of my three little ratties! 

L-R: Willie, Merv, Robert

Tagged:

§ 4 Responses to New Car!

  • Danny says:

    Everything except cruise control. Unbelievable.

  • shortside40 says:

    I forgive you. 🙂

  • Uncle Will says:

    SWEET! We can compare notes when I’m in town with my new Jeep Compass (talking on my bluetooth, listening to satellite radio….I recommend ‘the bridge’…). Vatican blogger convention invitation? Must have gotten lost with my invitation to the royal wedding. And that sun thing….hey…be thankful….if you lived along the Mississippi, you’d need to buy a boat, not a car. – The Unc..

  • shortside40 says:

    I have seen The Bridge on the menu, I will have to check it out! Haha one day, 30 years from now, some old postmaster is going to find our two invitations gathering dust in a corner of the post office and send them to us. But it’ll be too late…

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading New Car! at findingsomethingbetter.

meta

