Soon to be a Classic (and some Links)!

May 31, 2011 § 2 Comments

My little sister Genevieve (age 10) is writing a story.  She’s actually got about 40 pages down on the computer, which impressed me.  She was kind enough to let me read some of her great novel.  You’re welcome.

1. She describes a boy as having blonde hair with black highlights. 
2.  Her character tells the boy she has a crush on: “I wish I had the guts to say I like you but my guts don’t come easily.” 
3. Two young couples are sitting on the front porch of a cabin when they hear screams and crashing from the woods.  The boys make the girls hide in the cabin as they explain: “We’re men, we can handle this!”   I laughed out loud.

She’s displaying a knack for a good turn of phrase, and her storytelling is certainly brisk (although that may have more to do with her poor grasp on punctuation, rather than pure talent).

Today’s random item:  I was checking out a headline or two on Yahoo.com the other day and I saw this poll on the sidebar:

PRIMETIME ASKS!
What is your favorite character named after a car?
  • Bentley – “Bachelorette”
  • Ford Fairlane – “Adventures of Ford Fairlane”
  • Mercedes – “License to Drive”
  • Portia – “Julius Caesar”

I guess they are going with people phonetically named after cars???  Or are they just that dumb?  I don’t know, it made me laugh, though!

On to some links:

From Zenit, Pope Benedict speaks again about faith and reason and how, why yes, they can and should be compatible!  “Contemporary culture tries to confine the sphere of reason to empirical sciences, so that religion is relegated to the level of opinion, Benedict XVI is warning.”

Short little messages like this one are why I love our Holy Father: “Dear young people,” he said, “I hope you will be able to recognize, in the midst of the many voices of this world, the voice of Christ, who continues to address his invitation to the heart of the one who knows how to listen. Be generous in following him. Do not be afraid to put your energies and your enthusiasm at the service of his Gospel.”  After giving up music for all of Lent, I hope I learned how to listen at least a little bit. 

You may not have known, but my Confirmation saint is St. Gianna Molla.  And now, her daughter is coming to the USA!   “The youngest daughter of St. Gianna Molla will join Cardinal Raymond L. Burke in addressing a Kansas City conference on Catholic end-of-life care on July 23.  Dr. Gianna Emanuela Molla’s mother was declared a saint in 2004 by the Catholic Church and is known for her heroism in choosing a risky operation to save her daughter’s life when she was two months pregnant. The conference marks the first visit to the U.S. for St. Gianna’s daughter.”

I found this article from CNA about the chief exorcist in Rome, Father Gabriele Amorth, very interesting.  Read the whole thing! 
“Not surprisingly, ‘Jesus Christ’ is the name Fr. Amorth most often calls upon to expel demons. But he also turns to saintly men and women for their heavenly assistance. Interestingly, he said that in recent years one man – Blessed Pope John Paul II – has proved to be a particularly powerful intercessor. 
“I have asked the demon more than once, ‘Why are you so scared of John Paul II…  [A] response that he gave me, ‘because he pulled so many young people from my hands.’ There are so many young people who, thanks to John Paul II, were converted. Perhaps some were already Christian but not practicing, but then with John Paul II they came back to the practice. ‘He pulled so many young people out of my hands.’”

That’s all for now. 🙂 

Tagged: , ,

§ 2 Responses to Soon to be a Classic (and some Links)!

  • Walt says:

    You’re lucky…Genevieve never lets me read any of her stories.
    ‘Porsche’ is the correct spelling.
    When are you and your winebibbing buddies going to start a “Theology on Tap” at Tommyboy’s????
    Finally: “He who prays is certainly saved. He who prays not is certainly damned.” — St Alphonsus Ligouri

  • shortside40 says:

    I don’t know how to start a Theology on Tap! I will investigate online. Thanks for the quote, too!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Soon to be a Classic (and some Links)! at findingsomethingbetter.

meta

