In Which Cathy and Pat Play a Starring Role

August 24, 2011 § 2 Comments

I have been writing a short story for the past few days (more like a week now and stretching longer).  It’s almost done and I’m excited for the finished product.  However, it’s hard for me to juggle different kinds of writing.  Writing my story and then switching mental gears for a blog post is really hard for me.  I don’t know why; it’s not like I can’t write when there are distractions around me.  Ha.  Generally, I can write in almost any circumstance as long as there isn’t music playing.  Kids in the background, people talking, dogs barking are all frequent disturbances.  It must be my homeschooling background that enables me to tune noise out and simply concentrate on the task at hand.  Except for music.  It’s strange but I absolutely can’t write when music is playing.  Hearing lyrics in my ears and a character’s conversation in my head at the same time completely distracts me.  My eyes spin.  It’s like listening to your radio while trying to talk with someone, or singing in harmony with yourself.  I can’t do it.  When I’m writing, I play the words out in my head, hearing their sounds, the cadence of the sentence, if it sounds too stilted or forced.  Music disrupts that flow with superfluous words.  Even music without lyrics, like classical or soundtracks, doesn’t work.  Classical music distracts me just as much with the different elements, and I’ve tried to write while listening to soundtracks.  It went something like this:

Me, pecking busily away at a keyboard while The Fellowship of the Ring soundtrack plays in the background.  Suddenly, the music rises in a crescendo of excitement and I find all my character wants to do is swordfight a Nazgul.  Seeing as I am not currently writing a Tolkien-esque fantasy epic, this doesn’t jive with the storyline.  Soundtrack paused abruptly.  Stupid Nazgul.

At any rate, I’m sorry for the lack of posts after my haircut but the story took control.  I asked people what they’d like me to blog about and the answers were varied and amusing.  Kimmy said shoes.  I can do that!

Aren’t they just so pretty?  I went to Aldo’s website (I”ve had a soft spot for Aldo since I got those floral print wedges back in May from them) and saw these.  I love the color blocking.  And doesn’t every shoe lover repeat the mantra in their sleep? “Nude Shoes Make Your Legs Look Longer!”   Incredibly versatile yet strikingly beautiful.  I just want to hug them.  And then wear them. 

Cathy and Pat wanted me to blog about themselves.  Okay, here goes: 

Pat is a boy with a beard and some hats. 
Cathy is a girl with a(n irrational) fear of rats.  
Cathy and Pat hang out at weird hours.  
Cathy bakes cookies which Pat then devours. 
They both love the local Chinese buffet
Simply because there’s more food that way.
Then they’ll come home and Youtube weird stuff
Like X Files clips or The Story Of Us.
Pat thinks he’s a Ninja but I’ve beaten him there.
Cathy thinks she’s a stylist, with all her opinions on my hair! 
I guess even after all this, in the end 
I’m glad one’s my sister, and one is my friend.

  

And now back to the short story!

Tagged: , ,

§ 2 Responses to In Which Cathy and Pat Play a Starring Role

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading In Which Cathy and Pat Play a Starring Role at findingsomethingbetter.

meta

