Running In A Field On An Autumn Day

October 11, 2011 § Leave a comment

Free me, I said, for on these days it’s a crime to keep me earth-bound, to leave me behind. 

Help me, I begged, hearing the sound of the push of my feet, hard on the ground. 

Blow me along, I said to the wind in my hair, and I ran until my lungs burned like love and my face was chapped and clear. 

Take me with you into this soft blue song.  Magic me away into the sunshine horizon of God.

I spun and fell in the field and stared in the trees, an explosion, a riot, a paint-swept tempest of leaves.

Saturate me, I said to the clouds, and I lifted my hands just to pull them back down. 

Change me, I cried, and wildly sought any way into a wind that can’t be caught. 

Heat me, I said to the glow of the sun and felt the weight hit me and leave me undone. 

My chest set on fire and full cramped with the cold, I ran until earth and gravity gave way their hold.

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Running In A Field On An Autumn Day at findingsomethingbetter.

meta

