Anger and Scorn

November 8, 2011 § 4 Comments

In which I rant.

About the new Mass translation to be implemented in just a few short weeks.

I didn’t really edit this post before I published it.  Also, I am angry.  And scornful.  And I use a lot of withering sarcasm.  Not my normal style of post, at all.

You’ve been warned.

If I read one more article/blog/quote by some uppity Catholic about how the new translation of Mass has “unwieldy” or “obscure” or “stilted” or “awkward” language, I might just crack.  Honestly, I may (finally) go insane.  Jump off the deep end.  Lose my mind.  (I am not even going to link to any of these because they make me so angry that I refuse to send people to their sites.  Just search on Google; you’ll find some real winners.)  I’m sorry, but the idea that someone out there just deliberately ASSUMES I’m too stupid to understand the word “consubstantial” or pronounce it (or WHATEVER their issue of the moment happens to be) is completely ridiculous and quite frankly, it’s insulting.  Thank you, journalists, bloggers, etc.  Thank you for assuming my stupidity.  Thank you for taking it upon yourself to classify me as an idiot who doesn’t know what the word “consubstantial” means.  Although, you know, the more I type it and say it, the more I realize….  Oh my gosh it is a REALLY big word.  Wow it’s, like, at least, um, how many?  4 syllables!??  OMG.  I can’t handle it.  Heaven forbid!!!  Heaven forbid we make our Mass translation a little closer to the original Latin, a little more meaningful, a little more in-depth.  Heaven forbid we have to USE OUR MINDS while at Mass!!!   I think my head just imploded at that nonsensical idea.  Am I actually going to have to make an active effort to participate in Mass now!!???  NOOO!!!!!  I can’t believe it!!!   Shocking.  The idea.  The very idea that what we say- the language we use- is important!?  What a crazy thought!!!  Words matter??  HA!!  Who believes that??  In all actuality, the new translation of the Mass will give us a better understanding of our Eucharistic celebration.  The Mass is the source and summit of our lives as Catholics!  And we can’t even be bothered to learn a 4 syllable word!??  Seriously??  Have people (many, many people) had the audacity, the utter arrogance, to assume that I (as a member of the general public attending Mass) will find the language too difficult, and therefore, it shouldn’t be implemented!?  Yes.  Yes, they have.  This is the Mass we are talking about, people!! 

Look at what Pope Benedict XVI says about the Eucharist: “In the Eucharistic celebration we do not invent something, but we enter into a reality that precedes us, more than that, which embraces heaven and earth and, hence, also the past, the future and the present. This universal openness, this encounter with all the sons and daughters of God is the grandeur of the Eucharist: we go to meet the reality of God present in the body and blood of the Risen One among us.”

Look at what St. Francis of Assisi says about the Eucharist: ““O admirable heights and sublime lowliness! O sublime humility! O humble sublimity! That the Lord of the universe, God and the Son of God, so humbles Himself that for our salvation He hides Himself under the little form of bread! Look, brothers, at the humility of God and pour out your hearts before Him! Humble yourselves, as well, that you may be exalted by Him.”

Look at what St. Thomas Aquinas says about the Eucharist: “The Eucharist is the consummation of the whole spiritual life.”

 Oh hey, who am I kidding, though?  People can’t even be bothered to get their knee all the way to the ground when they genuflect (in front of the Tabernacle, you know, wherein reposes Christ, their Saviour), so why would they bother about knowing the word “consubstantial”?  

Seriously, to all you writers who think the language of the new translation is too hard: Shut up.  Stop insulting my intelligence.  Why don’t you close your yammering claptrap of a jaw and go buy a dictionary app for your smartphone?

Tagged: ,

§ 4 Responses to Anger and Scorn

  • Daniel Schmit says:

    I find myself loving the new mass translation. I just hate the music my diocese chose as the approved responses. It’s horrible.

    • shortside40 says:

      Daniel, I agree. I really don’t like the new musical settings we are using. I don’t sing very well and I feel like they go up and down and wander all over. Hard for someone who has no musical talent to follow! 😦 But if it is the new translation, I won’t complain (too much)!

  • SR says:

    Shortside40,
    I love this and I know you are angry but I could not help but laugh:>) I read a post earlier that stated, “We (Catholics) are ALL so unhappy about this but we have no choice. The next thing we are going to do is re-write the Catholic Bible and take out creation, Abraham, Noah, etc.” The way I read this is, this person commented on my blog, and before I post new comments I go read the blog. After reading her blog I trashed the comment. Hang in there, at least they are not sending us to “hell” over it:>) God Bless, SR

    • shortside40 says:

      Thanks, SR, I’m glad you got a laugh out of it! 🙂 I don’t normally rant, but I was just so frustrated. Words are obviously important to me (that’s why I blog!), and this translation is poetic and beautiful. There’s nothing wrong with that, but people act like the sky is falling. Ah well. In my next post, I talked about the translation in a happier light! 🙂
      God bless!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Anger and Scorn at findingsomethingbetter.

meta

