My Thankful List

November 23, 2011 § 2 Comments

Ten Things For Which I Am Grateful This Thanksgiving:

#1.  Sidney Crosby’s Return.  Did you see it?  Did you hear it?  Did you read about it?  The goal he scored 6 minutes into the game.  The 2 assists.  The second goal.  The complete domination.

#2.  Danny having a job that doesn’t require him to work disgustingly long shifts the days before and after Thanksgiving, thus making him tired and grumpy on the holiday.  Now he can take the time to relax and enjoy my pies!

#3.  I really like my job.  Because of it, I learned how to shoot guns. 

#4.  It’s Leo William’s first Thanksgiving!! (outside of the womb, that is, haha)

#5.  West Pittston.  I didn’t realize how much I’d grown to love it.  I know Danny’s parents and everyone else can rebuild and make it just as beautiful and welcoming as it was before.

#6.  The new translation of the Mass starts in just a few days!  (Personally, I was a little nervous to use the word “consubstantial”.  But then I practiced, and now I can even say it twice!  Without stumbling over the syllables!  Who knew!?) 

#7. The pet rats.  People can laugh at me, but I never had a pet of my own before.  The cats don’t count; they love Mom more than anyone.  Abby isn’t my own dog.  But the rats have been staying with me since the flood and they are my own dear pets.  They know my voice and come when I call their names.  I love my ratties.

#8.  Our front porch is fixed and we aren’t destitute (not yet).

#9.  I’ve found some really good friendships over the past year. 

And last but definitely not least:

#10. The destruction of Danny and Ryan’s couch in the flood.  Never again will I have to sit on that stained, encrusted thing.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to My Thankful List

  • Walt says:

    Re #8…Due in large part to the magnanimous generosity of Aunt Sue & Uncle Bob, and Aunt Nancy & Uncle Bobby. May our Lord reward them a hundredfold.

    Surprised that you didn’t mention your 2011 Chevy Cruze. I mean, isn’t life all about what car we drive? Where’s your politically correct spirit of inane materialsm? Perhaps you aren’t as wounded as I had supposed from having to ride around for years in a 10+ year old oversized wood-grained station wagon with a plastic carrier on top.

    • shortside40 says:

      I pray for them every day!

      And I was JUST talking about the Roadmaster station wagon yesterday!!!! Weird. I was wounded by that ugly vehicle for several years, until I realized that being politically incorrect was a heck of a lot more fun. Now I live footloose and fancy-free, and don’t give a hoot about what kind of car I drive!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading My Thankful List at findingsomethingbetter.

meta

