A Dessert is More Than a Trifle

December 2, 2011 § 2 Comments

Even when it is a trifle.  A cranberry trifle, to be specific.  Here are some pictures of the cranberry trifle that Mom cooked and I assembled for our Thanksgiving.  I was doing this at 8 in the morning on Thanksgiving day, so there really was no witty dialogue or events occurring as I made it.  I was mostly just sipping coffee and delighting over the trifle’s deliciousness.  I leave it to your imagination.

The cranberry compote:  a perfect blend of sweet and tart flavors.

 

Is there anything more yummy than a huge bowl of freshly whipped cream?  I am not ashamed to admit that Mom and I sampled this liberally. 

Here, I begin to place the first layer of pound cake at the bottom of the bowl.  We didn’t have a proper trifle bowl, so we just used a glass mixing bowl.  We’ve since purchased a correct trifle-displaying showcase.

The layers begin to grow.  The red of the cranberries sparkles against the creamy gold of the pound cake.

A few steps later, the layers have begun to meld together.  Cream, pound cake, cranberry compote combine to create a burst of sweet, tart flavors.  And it looks pretty too!

The layers are completed!  The trifle rests triumphant, a dessert worth exclaiming over!  Which Mom and I did, several times.  We were quite jolly with our (more than trifling) success. 

In our enthusiasm, we decide a garnish is necessary!  Our dessert is not to be trifled with. 

A mint leaf on top adds the perfect touch. 

This was a really delicious dessert.  I highly recommend it.  If you’d like the recipe, let me know!  (Same for the tiramisu.)

Also, sorry for the lack of wordy descriptions.  Lots going on in my mind.  Talking in terse sentences.  Absence of personal pronouns emphasizes distraction.  Probably going to have another guest post by Gen soon, or Pete.  Hopefully writing voice returns soon. 

Say a prayer for me!

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to A Dessert is More Than a Trifle

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A Dessert is More Than a Trifle at findingsomethingbetter.

meta

