Christmas Songs, and A Little Bit of Everything Else

December 13, 2011 § Leave a comment

There are times when you just have to throw your hands up in the air and admit you’re a terrible blogger.  I am doing that now.  Not literally.  My hands are busy typing.  But I will admit I’m a terrible blogger.  It’s been awhile since I posted and I apologize.  Sometimes the words, they just aren’t there. 

They aren’t really here right now.  But I wanted to post SOMETHING and so here are some random musings of mine:

Christmas songs!  I love them.  “Do You Hear What I Hear” is one of my favorites.  I really love Carrie Underwood’s version:

Also, the traditional French carol “Noel Nouvelet” is gorgeous.  I heard it for the first time on my SiriusXM Holiday Pops channel, which is the classical music channel.  Each rendition I hear of it is slightly different, but still beautiful.

Other favorites are “I Saw Three Ships Come Sailing In” and “Ding Dong!  Merrily On High“.  I just love the old English words in that one!!

However, “Baby, It’s Cold Outside” is the creepiest Christmas song I’ve ever heard.  Seriously with these lyrics?  It’s like something Danny would mutter to me really quietly in my ear just to freak me out, while leering and attempting to wiggle his eyebrows.  It’s just NOT GOOD.  Check out these lines:

“Say, what’s in this drink?”  (Oh you know, dear girl, the usual: splash of eggnog, dash of Rophenol, on the rocks just the way you like it!)
“What’s the sense in hurting my pride?”  (What kind of a romantic overture is that!?)
Worst: “Get over that hold-out”.   (Wow.  This guy’s a true gent.  Charm personified.  Honeyed tongue.) 

Baby, It’s Cold Outside = Worst.  Christmas song.  Ever.

Okay, quick unplanned aside:  Can any other WordPress user explain to me why THIS is the example WordPress uses when you enter a video link:

I mean, since we were on the subject of creepy things…

Moving on now.  Another random musing:  Did you ever do something that accidentally hurt someone’s feelings?  And you don’t know how to fix it, because they don’t know you know they’re hurt?  And fixing it wouldn’t be easy, and it’d be a real hassle and bother?  But you feel like you HAVE to fix it because you feel realllllly badly that you hurt someone, even without meaning to at all.  Yeah.  How can you decide if it’s a situation where you definitely need to fix matters, or if it’s (in Ma Ingalls’ words) “least said, soonest mended”?

We put up our Christmas tree the other day.  It’s my job to hang the lights.  I think I did a marvelous job.  See for yourself:

I love giving gifts.  Honestly, I know this sounds totally cheesy and Christmas-y, but whatever, it’s true.  It really is way better to give than to receive.  I get such a kick out of knowing I found a present for one of my siblings, or my mother, or a friend, that they will just love.  Or something that fits their personality perfectly.  It’s such a great feeling.  The whole seasons of Advent and Christmas are wonderful. 

Here is Mervy discovering a Christmas tree for the first time!!

Pete and I went to open skate at the Arena the other night.  It was a Toys for Tots benefit.  It’s the only night of the year when the ice is open to the public, and I couldn’t resist the lure of that glassy-smooth surface.  I love to ice skate.  It’s so therapeutic.  Here is a picture of us with Tux, the Penguins mascot.  (I look hunched.)

Before Cathy reads my blog and gets all annoyed that I didn’t mention her, I am planning on writing a post about her surprise party.  It went VERY well!

Pope Benedict on preparing for Christmas: “I know that people have many commitments, but getting ready for Christmas does not only mean shopping and making preparations, it means being in contact with the Lord, going out to meet him. I feel it is important not to forget this dimension. … This is not an additional burden, but the power that enables us to do all we need to do. I hope you maintain permanent contact with Jesus, that his joy and strength might help you to live in this world.”

Off the topic of Christmas for a bit now and about to get a little political (well, you can’t say I don’t warn you): 

Here is an article in the WSJ with which I actually agreed:  The Church of Kathleen Sebelius.   “…the great untold story remains the intolerance so beloved of self-styled progressives. In this Mrs. Sebelius has proved herself one of the administration’s most faithful practitioners: here watering down conscience protections for nurses and doctors who don’t want to participate in abortions; there yanking funding for a top-rated program for victims of sexual trafficking run by the Catholic bishops, because they will not sign on to the NARAL agenda; soon to impose a new HHS mandate that will require health-insurance plans to cover contraception, sterilization and drugs known to induce abortion.”

“As government expands, religious liberty is reduced to a special “exemption” and concerns about government coercion are dismissed, in the memorable words of Nancy Pelosi, as “this conscience thing.” ” 

Lately, I’ve really been trying to keep in mind the enlightening statement of Servant of God, Dorothy Day: “You only love God as much as you love the person you love the least.”  It’s a good reminder when I get angry, as I so often do, at women who dismiss and publicly disdain my faith, even as they claim to be members of the same faith. 

We celebrated the Feast of Our Lady of Guadalupe on Monday, Dec. 12.  Here is a wonderful article about a Sister of Life in NYC who reflects on Our Lady of Guadalupe.  Also in the article, this prayer by Blessed John Paul II, said at the Basilica of Guadalupe in 1979: 

O Mother, strengthen the faith of our brothers and sisters in the laity, so that in every field of social, professional, cultural and political life they may act in accordance with the truth and the law brought by your Son to mankind, in order to lead everyone to eternal salvation and, at the same time, to make life on earth more human, more worthy of man.”

And the quote from Our Lady to St. Juan Diego: “Listen, my son, to what I tell you now: do not be troubled nor disturbed by anything; do not fear illness nor any other distressing occurrence, nor pain. Am I not your mother? Am I not life and health? Have I not placed you on my lap and made you my responsibility? Do you need anything else?”

There are plenty of other things I’m pondering, but I’ll try to save those words for Cathy’s party post instead.  I hope everyone is having a wonderful Advent season, preparing for the birth of Jesus!!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Christmas Songs, and A Little Bit of Everything Else at findingsomethingbetter.

meta

