New Year’s Eve, Christmas Carols, and The Hobbit!

December 22, 2011 § Leave a comment

Thursday’s Rambling Thoughts:

This is the first time in 5 years that I won’t have to work at the restaurant on New Year’s Eve.  I will never, ever, ever go out to dinner on New Year’s Eve.  Not after working them.  Not after knowing the frustration of a hostess who can’t seat people because she can’t flip tables because the seated people aren’t done eating yet because the food is backed up because there’s already too many people because everyone thinks it’s a bright idea to go out to eat on New Year’s Eve. 

Never, never, never. 

This year for New Year’s Eve, all I want to do is go to Eucharistic Adoration at St. Faustina’s Church and experience midnight Benediction.  After Benediction, I will have a martini.  (I mean, once I’m home.  Not there in the church.  Although that’d be cool too.)   Can’t think of a better way to welcome a brand new year!  I’ve never made resolutions.  I don’t know why, maybe it’s like how I never believed in Santa.  I just never have.  I always knew that my mom wrapped the presents and they were hidden in the attic and on Christmas morning, we’d go to Mass and then open them.  My younger siblings don’t believe in Santa, either.  I don’t think there’s a right or wrong parenting method as far as Santa goes, but I have to admit, I like our family’s way.  Mom brings down all the presents in bags, and we each pick out wrapping paper that we like.  She’ll pull something out and tell Pete or Gen or whoever’s present it is to leave the room.  Then we wrap it in the recipient’s chosen paper, put a tag and bow on it, and cart it back up to the attic.  It’s all very secretive and there are many random cries of “Gen, stop looking!”  and “Pete, you’re supposed to be in the other room!”  All very good fun.

I think “Good King Wenceslas is my favorite Christmas carol.  What other song has lines like “Bring me flesh and bring me wine!”?  I love it.   Lyrics here.  Reminds me of The Return of the King scene where the Nazgul tells his beast to “feeeasssst on hisssss fleshhhh”.  And I think that if a Christmas song reminds me of that scene, that automatically makes it the best Christmas song, ever.  Or maybe I’m just on a Lord of the Rings kick because of the premiere of The Hobbit trailer.  If you haven’t seen it yet, do yourself a favor and watch it.  Then read the book and then watch it again.  I’m so excited for this movie!  I know The Hobbit isn’t on such an epic scale of the LOTR trilogy, but it stands on its own quite well.  I’m just so happy to get back into that world, through the screen.  I’ve read those books to pieces and it’ll be nice to have some new eye candy to digest.  And hooray for more Howard Shore!

Other things I want to blog about, but might forget:

1.  The Father’s Tale, by Michael D. O’Brien.  I finished it a little while ago and it was wonderful.  I really loved it.  Highly recommend.  I want to write a little review of it, but may forget with all the hustle & bustle occurring.  At any rate, read it!!

2.  Other really inspiring Christmas carol lyrics.

3.  All the things I want to bake for Christmas dinner!

4.  Pope Benedict and his amazing Christmas homilies.

PS- do you like the falling snow on the blog?  😉

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading New Year’s Eve, Christmas Carols, and The Hobbit! at findingsomethingbetter.

meta

