New York, New York!

January 12, 2012 § 2 Comments

I spent last weekend in New York City with Danny.  His Christmas present to me was: 2 tickets to see the show Billy Elliot on Broadway.  He knows me so well.  Dancing and music and Broadway, doesn’t get much better than that.  Also he got me this coat for Christmas:

That’s why I date him, you know.  The fur coats and theater tickets and wining and dining.  Speaking of those last two things, we went to dinner in NYC on Friday night at a little sushi place, called Sushi Sen-Nin.  I think it was on 32nd Street.  I could be wrong.  Here’s a picture of our sushi plate.  This doesn’t do it justice, because it’s dark, but the sushi was really delicious. 

Here is a picture of the “wining” part of the weekend.  I had the French martini, and Danny was drinking Lagavulin.

Other dining moments that were not photographed… Hmmm.  We ate lunch from a Mexican food stand at Madison Square Park.  I had a taco and Danny had a burrito.  We split chips and salsa.  It was like $8 total, and it was delicious.  Saturday dinner before the show, we popped into a little pizza place not too far from the theater and Times Square.  It was one of those tiny city restaurants where you are bumping elbows with the other tables, but it was worth it.  We split a pizza with mushrooms and sliced meatballs on top.  They also added big basil leaves and the cheese was nice and gooey.  It wasn’t Old Forge, but it was good! 

I don’t have any pictures from the show, obviously, because you aren’t allowed to take them.  Suffice it to say, the play was magical.  It was the second-to-last time that Billy Elliot would run on Broadway, so it had almost a bittersweet feeling throughout. 

We did plenty of walking around and shopping.  We went to Uniqlo and I found EXACTLY what I was looking for in a pair of pants.  They’re hard to describe, they’re like leggings/pants.  They are skinny-fit and made out of legging material, but they look more like pants and aren’t quite as tight as leggings.  I love them.  Uniqlo had great prices and a large selection of my favorite things: sweaters, polos, pants, leggings, skirts, and more sweaters.   I highly recommend it if you are like me and think that you can never, ever possibly own enough sweaters.  Contrary to my own belief, I did NOT purchase any shoes in the city.  I’m rather proud of that.

I went to Confession at St. Patrick’s Cathedral!  The Cathedral is such a stunning church. 

Here’s a picture of me standing outside the door. 

Look who I found there!!  I feel like I’ve been to her shrine before or something….  (actually it was the Shrine for the North American martyrs in that post, but I HAVE been to her shrine as well.)  It’s St. Kateri Tekakwitha!

AND St. Elizabeth Ann Seton!  I’ve been to her shrine in Emmitsburg, Maryland, as well!  

We ended up staying on Saturday night because Danny’s friend was gracious enough to lend us his apartment (he was out of town.)  This is the view from his windows:

And then we came home early Sunday, so that Danny could be home in time to watch the Giants’ game.  New York City was wonderful, Danny is wonderful, the food was wonderful,  I bought some wonderful leggings/pants, and the only non-wonderful part was that Danny and I didn’t get a single picture together.  You’d think he planned it like that or something…

 

PS- And because I know you’re all secretly longing for another picture of my pet rats, here’s one of Mervy in bliss as he munches on a honey-roasted peanut.  He always gets a squinty-eyed look when he’s happy.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to New York, New York!

  • Genevieve Babetski says:

    It seems like you had a great time! The food would be my favorite part, I’m not a fan of shopping nor long plays, but the food would complete it. Along with that view from the window, I would sketch it (as best as I could). You must take me on a trip someday.

    • shortside40 says:

      Thanks, Gen! Just give it time, you’ll learn to love shopping. 😉 We will definitely take a trip to NYC one day. I think you would like the Museum of Natural History. It has dinosaur skeletons and lots of cool stuff.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading New York, New York! at findingsomethingbetter.

meta

