A Hodgepodge Medley of Links and Thoughts

February 22, 2012 § 3 Comments

A haphazard, slapdash,  conglomeration of links and thoughts:
 
Fashion! I love the patterned tights, lace-up ankle boots, and structured skirts that were featured in Burberry Prorsum’s Fall/Winter 2012 Collection.  London Fashion Week is occurring, but I haven’t been paying as much attention to it as I normally do, because of my hectic schedule the past month.  However, I caught sight of some pictures from it on The Sartorialist and had to look further.  I really like the knee length of the skirts in the show, and paneled or quilted outerwear.  Here’s a gallery of pictures from Fashionising.com, and few from that gallery:

 

Hockey!

Evgeni Malkin is the leading point-getter in the NHL right now.  I had a lot of people give me grief for making a biased choice (coughDanny!) when I took him 1st overall in our fantasy league.  Too bad for them that he’s proven me right all season long. 

There’s a lot of stuff happening in advance of the NHL TRade Deadline Day on 2/27.  I’m curious to see if Rick Nash goes somewhere (and if so, who was the party willing to acquire him and his current -21 rating and who were they willing to give up for him).  I also thought this was a cool article on NHL.com, a review of some of the trades from last year’s deadline and how they worked out for each team.

The Maple Leafs aren’t doing so hot lately.  They’re 4-5-1 in their last ten and have the amount of points as Winnipeg.  The only reason they are clinging to that 8th and final playoff spt is because they’ve played two less games than the Jets but have the same amount of wins.  Not that I care about the Leafs.  I just think it would be awesome to have a Penguins/Leafs playoff matchup, because of the mixed alliances in my household.  Would I be able to jeer at Mom as my Pens crushed her Leafs?  Would it be a hard-fought battle of epic playoff hockey?  Would she crow in triumph over me if her team won?  (HA.  Not bloody likely.  Her team winning, I mean.)  Well, for any of that to even have a chance of happening, the Leafs need to make the playoffs.  So I kind of hope they do. 

Playoff hockey is the best. 

 

Catholicism!

From the USCCB website, a great post about 10 things to remember in Lent“5. It’s about dying to yourself. The more serious side of Lenten discipline is that it’s about more than self-control – it’s about finding aspects of yourself that are less than Christ-like and letting them die. The suffering and death of Christ are foremost on our minds during Lent, and we join in these mysteries by suffering, dying with Christ and being resurrected in a purified form.” 

A site that made me smile, on the ongoing birth control/religious freedom/utter absurdity of our government issue.  http://womenspeakforthemselves.com/  I’m pretty darn sick and tired of people thinking they speak for “all women” when they talk about the need for free contraception.  Sign the list!  Remind our President that “No one speaks for all women on these issues. Those who purport to do so are simply attempting to deflect attention from the serious religious liberty issues currently at stake.” 

Reason #94582423 that I love the Church: Today is a feast day dedicated to a Chair. 

No, not really.  I mean, it’s easy to understand how one could think that, given that the feast day title is “The Chair of St. Peter”.  In all actuality: The Latin liturgy celebrates today the feast of the Chair of Peter. It is a very ancient tradition, witnessed in Rome since the end of the fourth century, which renders thanksgiving to God for the mission entrusted to the Apostle Peter and his successors.” – Pope Benedict, 2/22/06.  (Zenit Link) (More pictures of the Chair link)

Can you find the chair?
Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to A Hodgepodge Medley of Links and Thoughts

  • Veronica says:

    Hmm, speaking of current events in the NHL… the most noteworthy thing I can currently think of is the Detroit Red Wings record setting 23 game home win streak!!! No team has had a home ice streak that long even over a two season span, let alone doing all in one year. The Wings haven’t lost at the Joe since OCTOBER 2011… and their streak rolls on despite having a back up goalie playing last week while Jimmy Howard was out. I LOVE HOCKEYTOWN!!

    • shortside40 says:

      It is noteworthy and I suppose I must give credit where credit is due. Just don’t expect any enthusiasm! Gosh I hate the Wings. Although I did pick up Joey MacDonald in my fantasy league for those few games that he played.

  • Slime Monster says:

    What terrible fashion you have, Rose. Me and Andy are prepared to wipe your memory clean of this fashion :P!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A Hodgepodge Medley of Links and Thoughts at findingsomethingbetter.

meta

