Fantasy Hockey: A Year End Review

February 27, 2012 § Leave a comment

Technically, we still have two weeks left in our fantasy hockey season.  But I wrote this review for our league message boards and decided to share it with you all.  It’s a look back at the players I chose on Draft Day (recapped here) and how they’ve performed, in my mind.  My team looks rather different now, but still has some core players.  Since not all of you play fantasy hockey with me, I’ve put each player’s name in bold who is still on my team.  Also, the team after their name is the one they played for when they were drafted by me.  Enjoy and feel free to comment if you disagree with anything!

1. (1) Evgeni Malkin (Pittsburgh Penguins C/RW) – #1 ranked fantasy player. Has proven that I wasn’t making a biased choice when I took him first overall. On pace to have his highest scoring season. Beast.

2. (16) Pekka Rinne (Nashville Predators G) – Solid. #1 in wins. Might not be the league’s absolute best but he’s certainly top 5 and in a league with only a handful of team-carrying goalies, he gets the job done night in and out.

3. (17) Zach Parise (NJ Devils LW) – I’m iffy. On one hand, he’s put up decent numbers all season long. Flip side, not as much as past seasons, and not what I was expecting from the newly named captain. He does play tons of PK though, which may be why his +/- is generally awful.

4. (32) Ryan Getzlaf (Anaheim Ducks C) –Will anyone ever know what happened to this Ducks team, or is the first half of their season basically an X-File??

5. (33) Shea Weber (Nashville Predators D) – Had an amazing first half, slowed down a little since 2012, but still one of the best.

6. (48) Jonas Hiller (Anaheim Ducks G) – I held onto my Ducks players WAY too long. I clung to them harder than Frodo did to the Ring at Mt. Doom.

7. (49) Jeff Skinner (Carolina Hurricanes C/RW) – Putting up steady points… until he got a concussion in Dec. and was out months. Hasn’t picked right back up where he left off, either. Bummer.

8. (64) Brent Burns (San jose Sharks D) – Playing pretty much as expected. Good numbers for a dman. For an 8th rounder, I’ll take it.

9. (65) Alexandre Burrowes (Vancouver Canucks LW/RW) – Picked him because he would be seeing top-line action with the Sedins while Kesler was out. Too bad a back injury made him miss games in Nov. Probably dropped him too fast though. I could use his +21 right now.

10. (80) Mike Cammelleri (Montreal Canadiens C/LW) – Ugh, I went with a “gut” feeling on this pick. Too bad I forgot I don’t have a gut and therefore should not listen to it. Ugh ugh ugh.

11. (81) Nathan Horton (Boston Bruins RW) – If I was going to pick a Bruin, there were a bunch of others I should’ve gone for.

12. (96) John Carlson (Washington Capitals D) – The Caps have played with no heart all season long and I don’t think he’s the one to get it beating again.

13. (97) Chris Stewart (St. Louis Blues RW) – He’s helped the Blues have an unexpectedly good season, but his suspension and injury in the early months of the season didn’t impress.

14. (112) Logan Couture (San Jose Sharks C/LW) – 52 points in 61 games, and an All-Star appearance? A steal in the 14th round.

15. (113) Jack Johnson (LA Kings D) – 8 goals in 61 games. Part of the Kings offensive woes.

16. (128) James Van Riemsdyk (Philadelphia Flyers LW) – Didn’t pick up from his playoff scoring surge the way I’d hoped.

I think there are a few reasons I’ve been in/near the bottom of the standings all season long. Biggest reason though is because I held on way too long to underperforming players, trying to give them a chance for a turnaround. Also because, in a league where 2 goalies count for so much, my backup goalie has always stunk. As I said in #2, I think this season is incredibly light on team-carrying goalies. Off the top of my head, I can think of only about 7 or 8 goalies that perfom night in and out. Don’t get me wrong, NHL goalies are all tops in their class, but even in this class, there’s a wide disparity between good and great. Howard, Lundqvist, Rinne, Kiprusoff, Quick, Elliott, Luongo, Thomas… they always give their teams a chance to win. Did I miss any?

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Fantasy Hockey: A Year End Review at findingsomethingbetter.

meta

