Busy Busy May

May 2, 2012 § Leave a comment

I can’t believe it’s May!  Several exciting events are happening in May and I can’t wait for the month to unfold.  First up is the continuation of playoff hockey.  The Blues (second favorite NHL team) lost again to the Kings, which means they’re down 0-2 in the series.  I want them to win and advance to the Conf. finals because I really don’t care about any of the other teams still in it, at all.  Hockey playoffs is the only time of the year when I wish I had a tv that received channels.  I hate missing good games!  The WBS Penguins lost the first game of their second round series against St. John’s last night.  My mother has now decided to forget about Western Canada and focus on vacationing in St. John’s one day.  I will admit, all the pictures she’s found online have been gorgeous.  I guess if you have the weird kind of parents that I do, the ones who want to go on vacation somewhere cold and windy (preferably during hurricane season), and who watch the Weather Channel (while their children are being attacked by wild animals), and who (many years ago) decided (on a whim) to drive out to Niagara Falls through the night with 5 small children in a crowded old station wagon, you take what you can get when it comes to vacations.  And St. John’s, Newfoundland, does have some sweeping vistas. 

Also up in May:

  • My cousin Erica’s baby shower is this Saturday!  She and her husband Bryan are expecting their first little baby in July. 
  • Cathy and I are visiting our sister Juliana, her husband Daniel, and baby Leo out in Michigan next week!  Juliana is due (with a baby girl!) right around the same time as Erica.  I love babies.
  • Our office is moving on the 3rd weekend of May.  This should be interesting.  I’ve never participated in an office move before.  We are only moving 3 blocks away from our current office, but I’m excited to have our own building finally.  No more sharing bathrooms and kitchens with 10 other offices!  I’m glad we are staying near Public Square, though.  I really enjoy being able to walk to the Farmer’s Market in the summer time and also being close to so many different lunch places.  If you work or live in WB, the new sushi place, Akeno, that just opened on S. Main Street is very good.  I’ve had rolls from there several times and they were all delicious.  They have a great lunch special too!
  • My garden will finally be tillable.  I cannot WAIT to get back into my garden.  It’s been so chilly and rainy here lately, I haven’t gone out and done anything yet.  I’m not worried though.  My hardy strawberry plants will pop back up just fine, and I have to decide what else I want to grow this year.  Any suggestions?  
Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Busy Busy May at findingsomethingbetter.

meta

