Tequila Makes My Pie Taste Good

May 5, 2012 § 4 Comments

It’s because the pie has tequila in it.  Not because you need to be drunk before it tastes good.  Come on, guys.

The other day, I decided to bake a margarita pie.  Browsing the internet had landed me upon a webpage of random cream pies, and I found this recipe.  It was a happy coincidence because I had just been thinking about tequila and margaritas.  Danny’s softball league has started their season and during the humid summer nights, I like to sip a margarita while watching him play.  And keeping score.  And collecting the money.  But that’s a different post.

This recipe called for a pretzel crumb crust, but I don’t really like crumb crusts.  I have stated before that I love thicker pie crusts, so I decided to make my own and see how it went.  Here is the recipe I used for the cream filling:

  • Zest of 1 lime
  • 1/2 cup fresh lime juice
  • One 14-ounce can sweetened condensed milk (not evaporated)
  • 2 Tbsp gold tequila
  • 2 Tbsp Triple Sec
  • 1-1/2 cups whipped heavy cream, divided use
  • 6 drops green food coloring (optional)
  • 4 very thin lime slices cut in half, for garnish

A few notes: I didn’t use fresh lime juice, I used the bottled stuff.  (If this were Twitter, I’d hashtag that sentence #lazy.)   Also, don’t be tempted to put in more alcohol than it calls for.  It’s plenty.  And finally, I used like 6 drops of food coloring because Genevieve and I wanted the pie to be really green!  She helped me bake these pies and she did a rgeat job with everything!

Here is the crust recipe I use every time I bake:

  • 2 ½ cups all purpose or pastry flour
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon to 1 tablespoon sugar (for a fruit pie. Omit sugar for a savory pie.)
  • ¾ cup cold butter, cut into chunks
  • ¼ cup cold water

This recipe is a loose version of a very good pie crust recipe that my mother found on the Pioneer Woman site.  I just adjusted it to my liking because I am random like that.  It makes two regular size crusts.  Notes about this: I always end up using more water than 1/4 cup.  I know you’re not supposed to, because the crust won’t be as flaky, and etc etc etc… but I do anyway because I like thick crust.     

I made the crusts first. 

Step 1: Butter Chunks are added to the flour and salt.  I didn’t put any sugar in this crust.

Step 2:  Used the pastry cutter to achieve my blended butter & flour

Step 3: Mixing in the water and kneading the dough.  I used more water than the recipe called for.  Not a lot more, but some.  I don’t mind if my crust is not flaky.  Again, I like thicker crusts and people always compliment me on my crusts so I just stick with what works!  That’s not bragging, right?  Not if your own dear mother says you bake better pies than her.

Step 4:  Rolling out the pie crusts.  I actually made videos of me rolling out pie crusts but I am embarrassed to post them.  They aren’t very professional.  I don’t mean I got drunk and danced on the table while rolling the crusts (ew?) just that I stammered a lot and looked hesitant and also my MOTHER walked in halfway through and started talking!  None of these things were Genevieve’s fault; she was my video recorder and she did a great job focusing on the crusts and my techniques.  Next time I make pies, I will definitely be able to make better videos and I will post them.  Here is one crust, ready for baking!  I baked them at 375 for 10-12 minutes. 

Step 5:  While the two crusts were baking, Genevieve and I stirred together the lime zest, lime juice, condensed milk, tequila, and Triple Sec. 

Step 6: By the time that was done, the two crusts were baked!  Before I baked them, I didn’t weigh them down with rice or beans or anything, I just put a bunch of little slits on the sides and bottom.  They turned out to be a delicious golden-brown color and with very few air bubbles!

 

Step 7:  Then I whipped the heavy cream until the soft peaks formed.

Step 8:  I set half a cup of the whipped cream to the side, then put the few drops of green food coloring in the lime juice mix and swirled it around to make it a pretty green, margarita color!

Step 9:  Then I folded the 1 cup of whipped cream into the green mix until it was all blended and fluffy. 

Step 10:  I spooned the mixture into the two pie crusts and smoothed it out!  Doesn’t it look delicious?  But wait, it gets better!

Step 11:  I got that 1/2 cup of white whipped cream I had set to the side and smoothed it out over the top to make a pretty white finish!

Step 12:  Gen and I decorated it with some lime slices.  Look, the margarita pie is happy to see you!  Then we popped the two pies into the freezer for an hour, and then into the fridge. 

The pie tasted so good.  It was a lot like a key lime pie, only with that hint of tequila.  Delicious!!!  I highly recommend it.  I know it looks like a lot of time and effort because of all the pictures and steps, but these pies took me all of an hour to make.  That’s not long at all.  Enjoy!!!

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Tequila Makes My Pie Taste Good

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Tequila Makes My Pie Taste Good at findingsomethingbetter.

meta

