Too Little, Too Few

September 13, 2012 § 10 Comments

There are a ton of thoughts running through my mind these past few weeks.  Ever since the move became official, I’ve felt like my brain is in overdrive.  I’ve never done this before.  I don’t know what to do first, what is more important, what’s a need and what’s just a want.  I’ve always tried to not care much about ‘things’ (other than sweaters and high heels of course) and I don’t really think I’m overburdened with worldly possessions.  That’s good though, I’m okay with that.  However, I have realized that perhaps there are a few things I could use more of; a few things of which I have way too little.  Following in the spirit of my last post, here is a short list of my stuff which falls into the “Too Little/Too Few” category:

1.  When I was finished cataloging my gargantuan amount of books, I moved on to other forms of entertainment, namely, DVDs.  Boy, was that pile smaller.  Having grown up (relatively) before the advent of Netflix and other online programming, you’d think I’d have a lot more DVDs.  I have about 10.  And of those 10, it’s safe to say at least 6 were filmed before the sixties.  Audrey Hepburn’s face rules the tiny stack of cases, with a smattering of Jimmy Stewart, Cary Grant, Gregory Peck, Barbara Stanwyck, and even Grace Kelly in there.  As far as the more recently produced films?  I own The Italian Job on DVD.  The new one, not the original.  I like Mark Wahlberg, what can I say?  I’ve got Van Helsing because I liked cheesy vampire movies way before Twilight ever debuted.  I’ve got The Cutting Edge, because it’s about hockey and figure skating, and really, how can you pass up a movie where the main character talks about how much he loves the smell of fresh ice?  Every time I watch that scene, I think, I know exactly what you mean.  I have the 2011 Jane Eyre, because it’s my favorite remake of the dark Gothic romance yet.  And I think that about does it for my ‘modern’ DVDs.  (For those of you wondering, I couldn’t bring the Lord of the Rings DVDs because technically, they don’t belong to me.  Sad face.)

2. There is a reason why my little sidebar is titled “Baking In A Tiny Kitchen”.  It’s because I love to bake.  What I have too little of, is cooking skills.  I can cook, I think.  I just haven’t had to do it very often because my mother likes to cook and has always had dinner at least started by the time I get home from work.  (I know, I know, why would I ever move out and away from that!?)  Mom is a great chef, despite her maternal failure to remember the multiple food preferences and dislikes of every single one of her eight children.  (For instance, although she knows I detest nuts- and trust me, I’ve made my nut abhorrence clear on numerous occasions- she ALWAYS puts slivered almonds into her chicken salad.  Apparently, Dad likes them.  Big whoop.  He’s older, so he should have to sacrifice.)  (And another example, she makes hash-brown casserole a lot, because everyone likes it, but she has to make one side of the pan hash-browns with peppers and onions, and the other side plain hash-browns.  I guess the smaller children don’t like peppers and onions.  What a bunch of weirdos.  She should just put them in the whole thing and pretend they’re candy.)  I’m rambling now, but I thought it was important to point out my mother’s failings.  Everyone else thinks she’s like a saint, or something, I can’t imagine why…  So, cooking.  I get to do it now.  I’m actually excited to cook more often.  I’m not going to lie, I intend on cooking a lot of pasta.  I love pasta…. penne with vodka sauce, shells with olive oil, garlic, and broccoli, kluski and cottage cheese.  Let’s hope my baking skills translate into cooking.

3. I have too few pairs of functional footwear.  My closet holds 1 pair of sneakers: blue Converse that I didn’t even buy, Danny got them for me.  That’s it.  The end.  Everything else is delicate, sparkly, high heeled, or just not really built for anything more than a day at the office or a Sunday Mass or a night on the town.

PS- I’m glad I made this list because I just remembered I left my snow boots at my parents’ house.  That makes TWO pairs of functional footwear that I own!

PS2- If you have any recipe suggestions, feel free to share!

PS3- I might as well write another blog post already with all the things I remembered that I forgot: snow boots, my Gone With The Wind dvd (probably hiding in Angela & Cathy’s room), all my winter scarves (only 4, don’t worry)…

PS4- Anyone interested in more examples of my mother’s egregious cooking behavior, just let me know!  I’ve got stories.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

§ 10 Responses to Too Little, Too Few

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Too Little, Too Few at findingsomethingbetter.

meta

