Various Thoughts As They Occur

September 19, 2012 § 3 Comments

I see to be writing well when writing in list format, so let’s not change the pattern of success.  Here’s a list:

1.  When I heard that The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey would be releasing a new trailer today, I jumped up and down, clapped my hands, and squealed.  This morning, I tweeted about it at least 6 times.  That’s my normal tweet total for a week.  Well, it’s past 10 AM, and the trailer is here!  Radagast the Brown rides around in a sleigh pulled by giant bunnies.  Bilbo runs out of Bag End without a pocket handkerchief.  The dwarves are ridiculous.  Smeagol and Gollum both make an appearance.  Galadriel wears a beautiful cloak and a wise expression.  Gandalf ponders and says something hopeful.  Elrond frowns and says something pessimistic.  In short, my dear readers, this will be a movie to remember.

2.  In my last post, I mentioned the 2011 adaptation of Jane Eyre, produced by Cary Fukunaga, because I own it on DVD and love it.  It has a different timeline than most of the versions I’ve seen.  I love the way they don’t just skip or gloss over her time spent with St. John Rivers and his sisters.  Using the long, empty time she lives with them to flash back to her life with Rochester made me feel more than ever her loneliness and the depth of her sacrifice.  If you like Jane Eyre and you haven’t seen this movie yet, do yourself a favor and watch it.

3.  I am so exasperated from watching political shows and seeing Sandra Fluke titled a ‘women’s rights’ activist.  That’s why I love this site: Women Speak For Themselves.  Thanks, but no thanks, Sandra Fluke.  You don’t speak for me.  Not all of us women think our ‘rights’ should include being able to take the lives of our unborn children through abortifacients while forcing someone else to pay for it.  (After all, we have access to something way cooler.)  (And that’s all.  No more quasi-politics in this post, I promise.)

4.  The Lockout.  In my mind, it’s always spelled with a capital L.  The NHL is officially in a Lockout.  If the season started today, it wouldn’t start.  I can’t prepare for my fantasy draft.  I can’t start a countdown to Pittsburgh’s opening night.  I don’t know when I’ll see Sidney Crosby on the ice again!  The only thing making this Lockout a little easier for me is the knowledge that, unlike a lot of hockey fans, I will still get to see regular live hockey at our AHL Penguins games.  The AHL will keep rolling even during the stoppage.  Who knows what names we might see playing down here?

5.  I’m taking Mervy to the vet on Friday after work.  My poor rattie is missing fur in some patches and I don’t know why.  I think he had a flea problem but I sprayed him with flea/tick medicine from Petsmart and they seemed to go away.  I’ve tried searching for information online but there’s so much out there and I’m just worried that I don’t know enough.  The worst part is, people laugh at me when they hear that I’m taking my pet rat to the vet.  It makes me want to cry.  I love my rats.  I love them just as much as you love your dog or your cat or your moronic fish (RIP, Paul and Joel).  Mervy is the sweetest rat of our four, the little guy who bumbles around the room, happily hunting for new scents and sights; he’s the rat who protected Willy and Freddy when we first got them, the rat who eats slowly and lets little kids jounce him, and has a lil’ white belly, and blunt claws so it never hurts when he climbs up and down my arms.  He sits on my leg for ages, and bruxs (like a cat’s purr) when I rub behind his ears.  I love my rats and I don’t care what people (who have often had NO experience with pet rats before ever) think of them.  So please, say a prayer to St. Francis that Merv is all right and that I won’t have to buy costly medicines for him.  Thank you!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to Various Thoughts As They Occur

  • Paul K. says:

    Hey, be careful how you speak of my deceased namesake, however moronic!

  • Veronica says:

    Have you seen the 1996 movie adaption of Jane Eyre, starring Charlotte Gainsbourg? It’s available to watch instantly on Netflix.

    I am also greatly aggravated (a preposterous understatement) by the NHL Lockout. We are only 8 years removed from a Lockout the cost an entire hockey season. The 2004 Lockout was crippling not simply because of the loss of a season, but because it came at a crucial point in hockey history when there was an emergence of viably competitive teams in non-tradition markets. These hockey teams in atypical regions had reached the point of having legitimate fan bases that were not only filling arenas but generating increased involvement in youth hockey. The 2004 season Lockout, flushed it all away. Here we are 8 years later having just begun to see some measure of recovery (I by no means believe that the league outside of the original 6 regions is on par with it’s 2004 popularity) and the fat cats seem poised for another go-round of Lockout roulette. Will it land red or black, players or owners? One thing is certain, the fans are guaranteed to lose as our investments in hockey aren’t even deemed worthy to be considered in this high stakes game.
    And so the 2012 season is shaping up to be the 4th major lockout in the last 2 decades. With over 100 years of Stanley Cup Championships awarded, and more than 80 years of NHL hockey played, this exponential increase in failures to reach a CBA appears as a damning verdict against the pretentious greed of the management (who yearn to be supreme puppet master), and the embellished benefits the players are now conditioned to expect for a life spent playing a game.
    Who knows what settlement will be reached or when. What I do know is that if the entirety of the NHL doesn’t make a drastic shift very soon these squabbles will cease to exist because the market will atrophy to a degree that there will be no more millions and billions to contest.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Various Thoughts As They Occur at findingsomethingbetter.

meta

