The Last One Up

January 11, 2013 § 5 Comments

(Guest Post by Juliana Schmit)

I am sitting on the couch in my living room, looking at the glowing screen of my laptop.  It is 1 o’clock in the morning.  I just made sure the dishwasher was started, the doors were locked, the heat was turned up by two degrees, and the lights were off.  Sounds very ordinary, right?  But only a few feet away, there are two rooms containing my most precious treasures.

From my own hunched perch on the couch, I can see down the hall through the doorway into my (practically) two-year-old son’s room, and I can even see his little blond head resting on his Buzz Lightyear pillow.  His chest is gently rising and falling with slow breaths beneath his white-ish, slightly graying, much loved silky blanket.  Yeah, he should be zonked… he only went to bed half an hour ago.  In the bordering room, my wonderful husband is snoring away, exhausted, I’m sure, from a long day of working to make money for his family.  He’s my best friend.  He even wakes up in the middle of the night to save me from falling out of bed when I’m not even falling out of bed.  Beside our bed is the little crib the holds my beautiful infant daughter, wrapped up in her white fleecy swaddle blanket and sleeping like an angel.  She is breathtaking with every perfect baby feature on her face.  It’s funny how I can love her so much yet beg God to keep her sleeping at any slight movement I hear from her.

Once again, I am utterly humbled in my gratefulness for my beloved little family.  I take a moment to offer up my gratefulness to God…

…And now I realize that I only have a short matter of time before the baby wakes up and needs me and who knows if my little boy will actually sleep through the night without waking up and crying for a drink of water and my husband has to be up early for work AND WHAT THE HECK AM I DOING OUT HERE ON MY COMPUTER WHEN I COULD BE SLEEPING?!?!?!!!!!!  OH PRECIOUS SLEEP, DON’T WORRY!!!!  I WILL BE FOOLISH NO LONGER– I AM RUNNING TO YOU!!!!
Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 5 Responses to The Last One Up

  • kylelozier says:

    Jul…you are awesome. 🙂

  • Veronica says:

    Sweet poetry, followed by a dose of reality. ❤ you Jul!

  • Walt says:

    In the bordering room, my wonderful husband is snoring away, exhausted, I’m sure, from a long day of working to make money for his family.

    How utilitarian! I’m sure Daniel sees his work as his willing response to God’s invitation to participate in His creative action — inspiring hearts, saving souls, increasing truth, beauty and goodness in the world. The mammon is secondary.

  • The loving aunt of Leo and Lucy: GENEVIEVE! says:

    Jul, you make me smile more than you make Leo and Lucy smile! I love the ending! I hope you got some sleep, too! I miss you more than I miss Rose!

  • Juliana Schmit says:

    Thank you all! It was one of my simpler writings, but it was contentedly happy. Dad, you make me laugh. Gen, what are you trying to start a war?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Last One Up at findingsomethingbetter.

meta

