Turkey Time

November 24, 2014 § Leave a comment

Thanksgiving approaches, and thus do Leo and Lucy!

The Michigan contingent is coming in for Thanksgiving this year, and it’s going to be glorious.  (Jul, Daniel, Cathy, Leo, and Lucy sounds like a fun road trip crowd, right?  At the very least, no one will lack for words.)  They’ll be arriving here later today and staying through Friday, and in light of that, I’m taking a few days off from work: Tuesday, Wednesday, and obviously Thursday.  It’s a little mini-vacation, only instead of the beach, I’ll be rolling around on the floor with my darling nephew and niece, and baking half a dozen different desserts, and playing board games, and talking. Lots of talking.

I finalized my dessert plans with my mother over the weekend.  2 pumpkin pies, 1 chocolate cream pie (Genevieve begged for it), 1 cherry pie (it’s my father’s favorite, and I am nothing if not a dutiful daughter), a salted caramel & chocolate tart, and an apple crisp.  Six pie crusts total, so that’s not too bad.  I’ll probably have Gen roll out at least one of them.  Jaci and I were about 14 when we started baking all the time, and the best way to learn pie crusts is to practice over and over.  I’ll try to remember to take pictures, so I can add some new posts to my Baking sidebar finally!

And that’s about all I’ve got for now.  Have a wonderful Thanksgiving, everyone!

 

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Turkey Time at findingsomethingbetter.

meta

