You Take Care of Me

June 3, 2015 § Leave a comment

I wrote a poem a few weeks ago. It’s based on the novena written by Father Dolindo Ruotolo, in which the line “Jesus, I surrender myself to You. Take care of everything!” is repeated ten times at the end of each day’s prayer.

You Take Care of Me

When the world’s weight seems so heavy
And the cost of love too high
In the midst of heartbreak dreary
You call out to me

oh my Jesus, heal my heart, bring me peace
You take care of it, you’ll take care of me

In the mourning and the anger,
in the bitter memories
Through the struggle and the hunger,
you call out to me

oh my Jesus, heal my heart, bring me peace
You take care of it, you’ll take care of me

Though I wander, lost and lonely,
though my soul is full of doubt
With eternal tender mercy,
you reach out to me

oh my Jesus, heal my heart, bring me peace
You take care of it, you’ll take care of me

Send your Spirit and your grace
Reveal to me your resting place
Take my pain, make it worthy
Hide me in your heart, my Holy
Teach me how to kindle love
In all those souls who don’t know of
Your beauty, truth, and goodness
Your mercy and your faithfulness
And though I have failed before
May all now come to love you, Lord
This is my cry, a humble plea:
Oh my God, take care of me!

oh my Jesus, heal my heart, bring me peace
You take care of it, you’ll take care of me

 

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading You Take Care of Me at findingsomethingbetter.

meta

