Strength

September 18, 2015 § Leave a comment

On my bad days, I think about all the strong things I’ve done in my life lately, all the things I thought I would never, ever be strong enough to do.  I think of them and remember how much I dreaded them, how the thought of doing them made me sick with fear, but they’re done now.  They’re in my past.  I survived.  I am okay with where I am in my life right now.  I got myself to this place, no one else but me.  Obviously I had help but the decisions and the carrying out of them were mine. So I think to myself: I am strong.  And that is a wondrous thing.

I had an old poster from when The Fellowship of the Ring was first released as a movie, and Frodo was on the front, holding the ring in his palm and staring down at it. It said “Power can be held in the smallest of things.”  I think of that poster, and I look down at my skinny little chicken arms, no biceps to speak of, and I laugh out loud in delight at the odd turnings of the world and the keenness of minds who find wonder in paradox.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Strength at findingsomethingbetter.

meta

