Throwback Thursday: Merv Edition

October 22, 2015 § Leave a comment

Today I was thinking about my old pet rat, Mervy.  Mervy passed away in January 2013, so this definitely counts as a throwback.  I wrote about him here when that happened.  He was the most affectionate rat and the friendliest one out of the 6 that I’ve owned.  (Charlie was the sweetest to me, but he wasn’t as good with other people, so Mervy gets the crowd-pleaser title.)

But today I was really just remembering one Merv incident in particular, the one that makes me so glad I have pet rats, because they’re smart and hilarious and sneaky.  It was mid-December of 2011, and I was still living at home with the rat cage in my bedroom.  I had a box of Gertrude Hawk chocolate Jordan Crackers in my closet, to keep it safe from the rats. (Yes, I keep snacks in my bedroom.  No, those snacks are never healthy.)  One day, I let the rats (Bob, Merv, and Willy at the time) out of the cage in my room to have some play time, as usual.  I left the room for a few minutes, shutting the door tightly behind me, and went to grab some laundry downstairs.  Mom distracted me on that fateful day, asking me a few questions in the kitchen, so that it was about half an hour before I made it back upstairs.  I went back in the room and immediately saw that my closet door was open.  When I poked my head inside, Mervy came scampering out of the closet, right between my feet, a Jordan Cracker firmly held in his mouth, and sticking out both sides.  “MERVY!” I exclaimed in horror and pounced on him.  He squirmed in my grasp, trying desperately not to relinquish his forbidden treat.  I pried it out of his mouth and then promptly popped him into the cage and latched the door.  Turning back to the closet, I saw he had chewed a hole through the bottom of the Jordan Cracker box and left cardboard pieces scattered around. I picked a few up and turned back around to laughingly scold him again.

And there he was, sitting in a corner of the cage, gnawing happily on ANOTHER Jordan Cracker!!  “Mervy!” I yelled again, and reached in and tugged the second one from his greedy little paws. I turned around and dropped both chocolates in the trash, picked up more cardboard and threw that out, and then spun back to properly scold my sneaky little rat again. And there he was, eating A THIRD JORDAN CRACKER.

“WHERE ARE YOU GETTING THESE FROM!?” I shrieked, feeling baffled and dismayed. Mervy’s twinkling black eyes laughed at me as he eagerly nibbled the chocolate treat that was bigger than his face. On a hunch, I reached into the cage and lifted up their little sleep hut.  Sure enough, there they were, a whole treasure trove of chocolate goodness.  Mervy had hoarded at least fifteen Jordan Crackers inside the opaque walls of the sleep hut.  He must have ferried them each individually into the cage from the closet while I was downstairs.  In half an hour! I started laughing so hard I cried. The image of him trotting back and forth across my room with these giant chocolates sticking out of his mouth was too much.  Then I took them all out and told Mervy he was a hilariously, adorably misbehaving sneak of a rat.

I don’t keep snacks in my room anymore.

420440_10150598663629142_440461058_nMervy on Rich’s shoulder

598822_10151118246189142_715515034_nMervy just wants some of Jill’s beer

snuggled up

Mervy snuggled up with Fred and Bob

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Throwback Thursday: Merv Edition at findingsomethingbetter.

meta

